mynaturalfamily

Inspiring natural, happy, healthy families!

Moms Can Go Cloth Too! February 14, 2011

Filed under: Earth Friendly Products — My Natural Family @ 1:18 pm

*Just a fair warning: to any dads reading this blog, now might be the time to hit the back button on your browser…just sayin’.

I did it.  I made the switch from disposable pads to cloth pads.   Honestly I’ve been staring at these Fuzzi Bunz Comfort Pads hanging on the wall for the past two months and my inner dialogue morphed from “Flippin’ gross!” to “Eh, maaybe,” to “Alright what the hey!”  The idea of having to wash micro-fleece that looked like it had been involved in a murder scene was at first horrifying to me…I mean, don’t you want to deal with that stuff as little as possible?!  Pad comes off, gets rolled up, goes in trash; you’re done and you never have to deal with it again, amen.  I had gotten used to the fact that they are uncomfortable as all get out (let’s be honest: it’s like walking around with a baseball diamond in your underwear), bulky, and leaked a little more than I would like.

But as my husband and I have been taking control of our budget and trying to figure out ways to cut our monthly expenses, I realized I was spending about $15/month on menstrual products (liners/pads/tampons) which doesn’t seem like such a huge deal initially, but that’s $180 per year!  Surely there are other things I’d rather be spending my money on.  I figured to buy a set (three each) of the Fuzzi Bunz cloth liners, regular size, and super absorbency size pads it would cost $43, and after doing some more research learned that, if taken care of properly, these things last for seven years!  So in a seven-year period, I could spend $43 on cloth pads or $1,260 on disposable pads.  The cloth was calling my name louder than ever.

Still, I was hesitant.  Would they work?  Would throwing blood-soaked pads into the laundry be the straw that broke my husband’s back?  The first day of my cycle, the day I had been waiting for (I never thought I’d say THAT) had arrived, and I eagerly snapped my cloth pad in.  I am so stoked to report that not only do they work fabulously (no leaks!), they are the most comfortable thing ever!  It was like sitting on a fluffy little cloud 🙂 Also, they’re not nearly as bulky as my disposables, and there’s none of that adhesive that would somehow end up sticking to me instead of my underwear almost every time.  They wash fantastically (I’ll admit it, I’ve even started hand-washing them and they come out looking like they’ve never been used)!  And I’ll spare you the details, but let’s just say that without all those irritants and non-breathable materials that make up disposable pads, I feel much “fresher.”

So now, not only do I feel good about saving money, I also can take a little pride in the fact that I’m contributing to less non-biodegradable waste (yay me).  I also don’t feel like a major hypocrite telling moms how wonderful cloth diapers are while buying disposable pads for myself (for shame).

Now all I have to do is conquer my fear of using a Diva Cup…

 

4 Responses to “Moms Can Go Cloth Too!”

  1. Sara Says:

    Thank you so much for baring your soul on this touchy topic. I’ve been leaning towards that option myself. I had tried some that were sold in your store about a year ago. . . but they were not the Fuzzi Bunz that I’ve heard such great things about, and were not PUL lined, and that turned me off quite a bit. Still I really want to give these a try.

    How do you hand wash them? Just curious since if I decided to give this a try I likely wouldn’t be purchasing enough for an entire cycle all at once.

  2. Sara Says:

    What an awesome post! thanks for blogging on some of the more ‘icky’ things 😉 A lot of people who love cloth diapers used to feel the same way about them as many do with cloth pads! I can’t wait to try them out!

  3. Ashley Says:

    I use the diva cup, greatest product ever, I never have leaks, and don’t use a pad at all, it is like I don’t even have my period.

  4. M Says:

    I’ve tried to use the Diva Cup, but since I’m not sexually active, it was extremely painful to insert and remove. I’ve resorted to using tampons for the time being, but after this post, I may try Fuzzi Bunz.


Leave a Reply

