mynaturalfamily

Inspiring natural, happy, healthy families!

Ready to Change the World? March 21, 2011

Filed under: Fluff Stuff & All Things Cloth — My Natural Family @ 12:53 pm

I never thought I’d be so excited about changing a diaper…but when it’s over 9,000 cloth diapers changed at once all over the world, I guess that is pretty exciting! 

A genius over in California knew that cloth diapers are an amazing way to protect the environment, but realized that so few people knew about their benefits or how much easier to use (and cuter to wear) they’ve gotten over the last 20 years.  So she contacted Guinness and decided to make Earth Day (Saturday, April 23rd) the day where cloth diaper babies all over the country could stand up and get noticed by breaking the World Record of Most Cloth Diapers Changed at Once!  Well, I guess they won’t be standing up so much as they’ll be laying down, but you get what I’m saying.  The goal initially was to make it a national event, but the idea spread so quickly and was embraced by so many cloth diaper enthusiasts that now it’s gone global!  People from countries all over the world (currently 15 and counting) have agreed to host a venue where parents can come together and take part in this monumental event! (Can you tell how excited I am by how many exclamation points there are in this paragraph?!  I’ll try to cut back…)

When Anna, our lovely store manager, told me about the Great Cloth Diaper Change I jumped at the opportunity to help circle ME act as a host venue for the challenge.  We filled out the forms and have started contacting people to act as witnesses, supervisors, ticket takers…you name it, Guinness requires it.  Turns out setting an official World Record is all in the details, and Guinness is PICKY.  One of the many requirements is that there has to be at least 25 adults changing 25 babies in the room for them to count towards the record total. 

When I read that clause in the contract my palms started sweating.  I suddenly remembered how nervous planning and hosting an event can make me.  I think it all stems from my 8th birthday party when I invited my entire 3rd grade class and one person came.  I’m here to tell you that ONE person coming to your party is significantly more traumatizing than NOBODY coming…ugghhh.  Several years and several birthdays later, I STILL get mild nausea when planning a party is required of me. 

But look at me, I’ve gotten way off topic here.  All phobias aside, I do love the mission of this Great Cloth Diaper Change and I could not feel more elated that I have the opportunity to help spread the word about the environmental, financial, and health benefits of cloth diapering.  I feel like this is literally the opportunity to “be the change you wish to see in the world” (ha ha…get it?).  Plus it really is going to be like a party here at the store that day!  Sort of a birthday party for Mother Earth, if you will.  There will be family entertainment and fun games and, if you’re a regular attendee, the best part is the Great Cloth Diaper Change doesn’t overlap Lincoln’s annual Earth Day Celebration.  You can come be a part of history from 10:45am to 11:45am and then head over to Antelope Park to take part in more awesome Earth Day festivities.

If you’re reading this and not in Lincoln, Nebraska, check out www.greatclothdiaperchange.com and see if there’s a host location near you.  If you are in Lincoln (and aren’t going out of town Easter weekend) go to http://www.circleme.me/Great-Cloth-Diaper-Change.php to register for the event.  You don’t even have to own any cloth diapers!  If you’re still doing disposables but have been curious about all the cloth diapering hub-ub, we’ll have diapers available at a discounted rate the day of the event for you to use.  

Be part of a historical event and help spread the word about the awesomeness that is cloth diapering.  Be the change you wish to see in the world.  And please, come if you can…I’m getting a little woozy at the thought of only one person coming.  🙂

 

2 Responses to “Ready to Change the World?”

  1. Sara Says:

    Oh I so wish I could be a part of that 😦 we’ll be traveling though. I might just make the hubs pull over so I can change two cloth diapers at that moment. . . and add it to the ‘unofficial’ count, lol.

    ~And I totally feel your fear of hosting parties! As a child I never really had birthday parties, but twice as an adult I hosted parties, once a jewelry party and once an open house for the Mary Kay I was trying to sell, that NOBODY, not one friend or relative, showed up at.

    • Anna Keyzer Says:

      If you are closer to Elkhorn than to Lincoln you might want to join Top to Bottom Baby Boutique as they will be hosting a location as well!!! Nebraska will be on the map for at least 2 locations for this exciting event!!!!

      Also…circle ME will be running sales to commemorate the date!! Stay tuned for those! Perhaps you might want to buy a diaper to always remember the day you and your baby made the Guiness Book of World Records!


Leave a Reply

