mynaturalfamily

Inspiring natural, happy, healthy families!

The Movers and The Shakers. April 26, 2011

Filed under: Fluff Stuff & All Things Cloth — My Natural Family @ 12:43 pm

Boy I have been slacking on the posts!  Between the re-diaper sale, a State Farm-sponsored Earth Day Fair, The Great Cloth Diaper Change and Lincoln’s Earth Day Fair, it’s safe to say that April has been one hectic month.  It has also been a truly enjoyable one to boot, though.

The State Farm-sponsored fair was a great experience for me, since it was predominately made up of people who had no idea what the modern cloth diaper looked like and, before they saw our booth, had absolutely zero interest in cloth diapering their little ones.  The most rewarding part was seeing the pregnant women’s eyes light up as they realized they didn’t have to spend thousands of dollars on stuff they’d have to throw away after one use.  The most deflating part was getting laughed at as other women sternly declared, “Yeah, no thanks.  I’d like to deal with poop as little as possible.”  I think for the next booth we have, I’d like to put an enlarged poster of something like this up:

What is this?  It’s the side of a box of disposable diapers specifically instructing users to shake their baby’s poop into the toilet before they toss the diaper (they use the far more eloquent word “soil”).  The manufacturers even claim this step is IMPORTANT, so important, in fact, that you will find this warning on any and every box or bag of disposable diapers.  Why is this an important (but often overlooked) step of baby-bottom-care?  Because throwing poop into a dumpster where birds, mice, insects and other fast-moving creatures can ingest the doo and then carry it with them wherever they go isn’t just nasty, it’s a health hazard.  The adolescent punk in me felt like blurting out “Newsflash Lady, you might as well buy a diaper sprayer because you’re supposed to be cleaning poop out of your diapers whether you reuse them or not.”  But I try not be rude, especially when I’m representing a company of people who are collectively far more mature than me, so I just smiled and said, “Ha ha. I totally understand. Luckily they’ve made it so easy to use and clean cloth.  Here’s a pamphlet.”

I do understand the initial hesitancy with using cloth, trust me.  Like I’ve said time and time before, I was once in the same boat.  To someone who hasn’t researched the benefits, ease and accessibility of the modern cloth diaper, it DOES seem like a hectic nuisance that would add unnecessary work to a parent’s already busy day.  But between diaper sprayers, (flippin’ cute) wetbags, pre-treatment enzyme-busting spray, and detergent made specifically for cloth diapers, fluff manufacturers all over the world have made cloth maintenance an absolute breeze!  Alas, I realize I am probably preaching to the choir here.

Whatever feelings of deflation happened at this fair, however, were quickly countered with total elation during the Great Cloth Diaper Change.  What an honor it was to be a part of such an amazing event! I have to admit I got a bit choked up as 38 parents, some even using cloth for the first time, came together to make a statement about what fluff does to save our planet.  A little voice inside my head spoke up and said, “They’re all doing this for them,” them being the 38 babies these parents held high in the air as they finished changing their diaper.  These parents are using cloth for their kids, not just for their health now, but for their future as well.  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: We didn’t inherit this earth from our parents.  We are borrowing it from our children.  If you really want to take care of your kids, do what you can to take care of the earth as well.

 

One Response to “The Movers and The Shakers.”

  1. Sara Says:

    Awesome! My April was so packed too, I wasn’t able to join in the fun anywhere for the Great Cloth Diaper Change. I am so glad it turned out nice for you guys!

    And as for crazy people that can’t handle ‘messing with poop’ tell them it’s much easier for a kid to take off that disposable and smear it all over their bed and wall than it is for them to take off a cloth with snaps. (True story, unfortunately!). Also, if you can’t handle poop. . . don’t have kids or pets. Because they poop. A lot 😉 (I would not have been able to control my mouth at that point. . . good for you!)


Leave a Reply

