mynaturalfamily

Inspiring natural, happy, healthy families!

Tomorrow’s Child July 18, 2011

Filed under: Raising Little People — My Natural Family @ 2:34 pm

I had the opportunity to watch a documentary film this last week about businesses that were working hard to increase their sustainability factor.  During the film, a poem was recited by Ray Anderson, CEO of Interface Inc., the world’s largest carpet tile manufacturer, and Glenn Thomas, an employee at Interface and the poem’s authorIt was incredibly touching to see two men who had never before cared what their industry was doing to the environment (so long as they made a profit and complied with the government regulations of creating and disposing of waste), become aware of the fact that this is the only world we’ve got, and if we destroy it, we are essentially destroying a child’s future.  Maybe not for our own children, or even for our grandchildren, but for the children that we will never have the opportunity to meet: what would life be like for them if our present generation doesn’t take care to protect our environment and find ways to renew our resources?

Tomorrow’s Child (by Glenn Thomas)
Without a name; an unseen face
and knowing not your time nor place
Tomorrow’s Child, though yet unborn,
I met you first last Tuesday morn.

A wise friend introduced us two,
and through his sobering point of view
I saw a day that you would see;
a day for you, but not for me

Knowing you has changed my thinking,
for I never had an inkling
That perhaps the things I do
might someday, somehow, threaten you

Tomorrow’s Child, my daughter-son
I’m afraid I’ve just begun
To think of you and of your good,
Though always having known I should.

Begin I will to weigh the cost
of what I squander; what is lost
If ever I forget that you
will someday come to live here too.

 

Cloth diapering is certainly one way to ensure there’s a clean earth left for our children’s children’s children, but what other ways do you care for tomorrow’s child?  What are the little things you and your family do each day to reduce waste, recycle materials and reuse goods?

 

One Response to “Tomorrow’s Child”


Leave a Reply

